St. Bonaventure University

2021 Hellinger Awards Luncheon

Monday, Oct. 11

National Press Club, Washington, D.C.


Learn more about the luncheon

The Mark Hellinger Awards

The annual Hellinger Awards Ceremony honors the Jandoli School's top graduates and recognizes the accomplishments of outstanding alumni.

The Hellinger Award is named for Mark John Hellinger, an American journalist, theater columnist and film producer. It was established in 1960 by Jim Bishop, who worked with Hellinger at the New York Daily News and considered him his mentor.

Bishop would go on to establish his own fame as a syndicated columnist whose work appeared in hundreds of newspapers across the country, and as a best-selling author. Among Bishop's many works is "The Mark Hellinger Story: A Biography of Broadway and Hollywood."

Bishop began a long relationship with St. Bonaventure in 1958 when he was invited to speak at the university's Press Day event and was awarded an honorary doctorate. Soon afterward, Bishop began donating manuscripts and notebooks to form an archives of his writings at the university's Friedsam Memorial Library.

National Press Club to host 2021 Hellinger Awards

This year's luncheon will recognize the 2021 and 2020 Hellinger Award winners and runners-up and pay tribute to four Jandoli School graduates.

2021 Hellinger honorees
The 61st Annual Mark Hellinger Award Ceremony and Luncheon will be held at 11:30 a.m. Monday, Oct. 11, at the National Press Club, 529 14th St. NW, Washington, D.C.* The luncheon program begins at noon.

The luncheon will honor 2021 Hellinger Award winner Michael Hogan and runner-up Jeffrey Uveino; 2020 winner Cameron Hurst and runner-up Layne Dowdall; SBU alumni Charlie Specht, '10, and Danica Roem, '06; and two recent additions to the Jandoli School's Wall of Distinguished Graduates: Jackie Trescott, '68, and Joan Roeben Licursi, '65. (Learn more about Trescott & Licursi)

PBS NewsHour's Judy Woodruff to give keynote talk

Judy WoodruffBroadcast journalist Judy Woodruff, anchor and managing editor of the PBS NewsHour, will give the keynote talk at the 2021 Hellinger Awards Luncheon.

Woodruff has covered politics and other news for five decades at NBC, CNN and PBS. At PBS from 1983 to 1993, she was the chief Washington correspondent for the MacNeil/Lehrer NewsHour. From 1984 – 1990, she also anchored PBS’ award-winning documentary series, “Frontline with Judy Woodruff.”

Moving to CNN in 1993, she served as anchor and senior correspondent for 12 years; among other duties, she anchored the weekday program “Inside Politics.” She returned to the NewsHour in 2007, and in 2013, she and the late Gwen Ifill were named the first two women to co-anchor a national news broadcast. After Ifill’s death, Woodruff was named sole anchor.

  • Register for the 2021 luncheon 

    To register to attend the luncheon, sponsor a current St. Bonaventure student's attendance, or support the luncheon as an event, program, dessert or table sponsor, CLICK HERE.

    *Please note: The National Press Club requires all guests to be fully vaccinated against COVID-19 or to have a negative COVID-19 test within 72 hours of the event.