St. Bonaventure University


Office of the President

Joe Zimmer, acting president of St. Bonaventure UniversityDr. Joseph E. Zimmer, provost and vice president for Academic Affairs at St. Bonaventure since 2015, was named acting university president in January of 2021 following the death of the university's 21st president, Dr. Dennis R. DePerro, from complications of COVID-19.

A longtime professor in the School of Education, Dr. Zimmer has served in a number of leadership roles at St. Bonaventure, including School of Education dean, chair of the Faculty Senate and liaison officer for the university's accreditation review.

Dr. Zimmer serves as acting university president as a search for the next president of St. Bonaventure University is underway.

Office of the President 

Board of Trustees

The St. Bonaventure Board of Trustees is the governing body of the University.  Board members are appointed up to three (3)-year terms. The University President, the Provincial Minister of Holy Name Province and the President of National Alumni Association Board serve as voting ex-officio Trustees.  

The Board of Trustees oversees the general supervision of the business and affairs of the university and meets four times per year.

Board of Trustees 

Senior Executive Management Team

The senior leadership team at St. Bonaventure University includes the university president and nine chief administrators who oversee the key functional areas of the institution.

Senior Leadership Team


University President's Council

The University President's Council advises the president and acts as a liaison to the campus community as a whole. It is comprised of the Senior Executive Management Team, the six SBU Deans and several key-area directors.

University President's Council 

Faculty & Staff


More than 75 percent of our faculty have a Ph.D. or terminal degree. Our professors are committed and approachable faculty who dedicate themselves to making connections -- among themselves, their courses and, most importantly, their students.

Faculty and Staff Directory


Administrative staff

The university's administrative units include Academic Affairs, Administrative Services, Advancement, Business & Finance, Economic Development, Global Affairs & International Research, Information Technology, Research & Innovation, Student Affairs, University Communications & Marketing, SBU Athletics, and SBU Support Offices.

Office Directory