St. Bonaventure University

Distinguished Graduates of the Jandoli School

We're proud of the many alumni of the Jandoli School of Communication who have gone on to attain success in their careers.

Janet I. Bodnar, '71
Editor-at-large, Kiplinger's Personal Finance Magazine
Deb Henretta, ’83
Partner, G110 Companies; vice chair, SBU Board of Trustees
Adrian Wojnarowski, ’91
Senior NBA Insider at ESPN; three-time National Sports Media Association Sportswriter of the Year
Dan Barry, ’80
New York Times reporter and columnist; Pulitzer Prize winner; 2017 New York Press Club Award for Journalism
Mike Vaccaro, ’89
Lead sports columnist for the New York Post, two-time New York Sportswriter of the Year.
Neal Cavuto, ’80
Senior VP, anchor and managing editor for FOX News Channel and FOX Business Network


Michael Hill, ’96 
President of Chautauqua Institution; former President and CEO of Youth For Understanding USA
Allison Kropff, ’05  
News anchor for CBS affiliate WTSP in Tampa, Fla.
Carol A. Schumacher, ’78
Communications Consultant, Signet Jewelers
Shannon Shepherd, ’12 
Buffalo Bills beat reporter, Sports Illustrated; Buffalo Broadcast Association's Tim Russert Medal of Merit
Robert J. McCarthy, ’76
Chief political reporter for The Buffalo News
Christopher M. LaPlaca, '79 
Senior Vice President, Corporate Communications, ESPN
Patrick Hosken, ’12 
Daily news editor and writer, MTV News
Mari Snyder, ’90 
Director of Economic Empowerment, University of Maryland SAFE Center for Human Trafficking Survivors
Jennifer Westerholt, ’10 
Director of Alumni Relations, Nardin Today editor and Advancement writer, Nardin Academy, Buffalo
Lee Coppola, ’64 
Former dean of St. Bonaventure's Jandoli School of Communication; member of the Buffalo Broadcasters Hall of Fame.
Alicia (D’Alessandro) Lane, ’12 
Director of Resource Development, Habitat for Humanity Capital District, Albany, N.Y.
Dr. Robert Buckla, ’84 
Vice president for Advancement, Lake Forest Academy, Lake Forest, Ill.
Daniel Collins, ’73
Division Vice President (retired), Corporate Communications, Corning, Inc.
Sarah Shelters, ’11 
Communications Officer, Chautauqua Region Community Foundation
Leah Shearer Noonan, ’00 
Associate Director of Alumni Relations, Mercy College
David Lanzillo, ’84 
Administrative Vice President Director, M&T Bank, Buffalo
Kelly Eschberger, ’07 
Digital Team member, PNC Bank, Pittsburgh; former producer and writer, WPXI-TV in Pittsburgh.
David Yaun, ’85
Senior Vice President of Communications, Bank of America
Jennifer Sherman, ’09 
Director of Public Affairs, Office of the U.S. Surgeon General
Marissa Sangiacomo, ’11 
Marketing manager at St. Martin's Press, New York
Joseph Enoch, ’06 
Producer at NBC News in New York
Jacqueline Trescott, ’68 
Reporter for the Style Section of The Washington Post

Wall of Distinguished Graduates

The Jandoli School established the Wall of Distinguished Graduates in 2000 as part of the program's 50th anniversary celebration. The wall recognizes the many accomplishments of our graduates over the years.

Nominated by alumni and faculty, honorees are recognized for having distinguished themselves in their chosen careers. Each is honored with a plaque mounted on a wall in the school's campus home, the John J. Murphy Professional Building.

Five of St. Bonaventure's six Pulitzer Prize winners Five graduates of our program, and a sixth SBU graduate who earned a journalism minor, have earned journalism's highest honor, the Pulitzer Prize (from left in photo):

  • Robert Dubill, '58 (USA Today), journalism and mass communication (J/MC) major
  • John Hanchette, '64 (Gannett News Service), J/MC major
  • Charles Hanley, '68 (Associated Press), J/MC major
  • Brian Toolan, '72 (Hartford Courant), English major, J/MC minor
  • Dan Barry, '80 (New York Times), J/MC major
  • Not shown: Bill Briggs, '85 (The Denver Post), J/MC major

Wall of Distinguished Graduates inductees

(Listed in order of graduation year)

  • Adrian Wojnarowski, '91, ESPN Senior Basketball Insider, New York Times best-selling author, and the National Sports Media Association's Sportswriter of the Year in 2017, 2018 and 2019
  • Deborah Henretta, '83, senior advisor, SSA & Co.
  • Dan Barry, '80, New York Times columnist and Pulitzer Prize winner
  • Neil Cavuto, '80, Fox News anchor and commentator
  • Victoria Corderi, '79, former newspaper and TV reporter, a three-time Emmy winner, and winner of Peabody and Murrow awards for excellence in journalism
  • Chris LaPlaca, '79, senior vice president, corporate communications, ESPN
  • Dan Herbeck, '78, former reporter for the Buffalo News and co-author of "American Terrorist," the New York Times best-seller about Oklahoma City bomber Timothy McVeigh
  • Carol Schumacher, '78, VP of Corporate Affairs, Intercontinental Exchange
  • James Marchiony, '76, associate athletic director at University of Kansas and former director of media services for the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA)
  • Daniel F. Collins, '73, vice president of corporate communications, Corning, Inc.
  • Janet Bodner, '71, editor of Kiplinger's Personal Finance magazine
  • Greg Mitchell, '70, author/editor, and Goldsmith Book Prize recipient
  • Mike Dodd, '69, national sportswriter and investigative journalist
  • Charles Hanley, '68, former Associated Press journalist and Pulitzer Prize winner
  • Jackie Trescott, ’68, long-time principle arts news reporter for the Washington Post and a member of the National Association of Black Journalists Hall of Fame
  • Joan Roeben Licursi, ’65, former managing director for Burson-Marsteller and a former senior vice president for Gilda’s Club Worldwide. She served on the St. Bonaventure Board of Trustees from 1994-2003
  • Thomas Mosser, '65, former general manager at advertising giant Young & RubicamPatrick Farren, '66, former Peace Corps worker and co-founder of Peacework Magazine
  • Lee Coppola, J.D., '64, former print/TV journalist, Asst. U.S. Attorney, J/MC dean, and George Polk Award winner
  • John Hanchette, '64, former Gannett News Service investigative reporter and Pulitzer Prize winner
  • Dr. Mary Hamilton, '59, former newspaper reporter and editor, and former J/MC chair, now retired
  • Robert Dubill, '58, former USA Today editor and Pulitzer Prize winner