St. Bonaventure University

News, Publications & Research

SBU mock trial students excel at regional tournament

Feb 11, 2020 |

The SBU mock trial teams competed at the American Mock Trial Association’s Buffalo Regional Tournament Feb. 8-9, with a number of students earning individual awards and one team advancing on to the next stage of competition.

The St. Bonaventure  A Team was one of only five in a field of 20 teams advancing to the AMTA Opening Round of the Championship Series (ORCS). The team will compete March 6-8 in the Lancaster, Pennsylvania, opening round tournament, one of eight such tournaments held across the nation.

This is the fourth time in the past seven years that an SBU team has advanced to ORCS. In addition to the team’s success, seven SBU mockers received individual awards. Ten witnesses competing at the tournament were recognized as “all regional witnesses.” Three SBU mockers received this distinction: Theresa Rabbia, Kelly Bailey and Makenna McCartney.

Eighteen attorneys were recognized as “all regional attorneys.” Four SBU mockers received this distinction: Hanna Oleski, Daniel Bakowski, Brandy Morse and Hannah Merges.

The A Team also received the coveted Spirit of AMTA Award. This award is given to the team that best exemplifies the ideals of honesty, civility and fair play. Teams rate their competitors on a 10-point scale. An overall score of 30 represents a perfect score. The SBU A Team received a perfect score.

This is the fourth time this year that an SBU team has received the tournament Spirit Award.

“This speaks volumes about the character of the students on our teams and how highly they are regarded by those with whom we compete. I could not be more proud of our mock trial teams,” said Dr. Steven Nuttall, associate professor of philosophy and director of the Center for Law and Society at St. Bonaventure.

The following is a list of SBU mockers who competed in the regional tournament: Landon Allison, Kelly Bailey, Daniel Bakowski, Nathan Dasilva, Leah Gale, Ian Joseph, Bryce Kelly, Makenna McCartney, Hannah Merges, Brandy Morse, Trevor North, Hanna Oleski, Elias Petri, Theresa Rabbia, Julia Schneider, and Selena Vazquez.